Skip to main content

How to Roll Back to a Previous Divi 5 Version

Learn how to roll back to a previous version of Divi in case you have issues after a theme update. Useful for debugging purposes.

If your website encounters a problem or a fatal error after a theme update, it's always a good idea to have an option to roll back to a previous Divi version so you can get the website back online.

Warning: It is always recommended to have a website backup before rolling back to a previous Divi version, as going back to an older version could potentially cause compatibility issues or security vulnerabilities.

Backup Your Website

  1. Use a WordPress backup plugin like UpdraftPlus to create a full website backup, including the database and all files.

  2. If you're unfamiliar with UpdraftPlus, check out the How to Take a Backup of your Website article.

Roll Back to the Previous Version

  1. Go to Divi → Theme Options → Updates tab

    Divi 5 - Theme Options - Updates Tab
  2. Click the Rollback to the previous version button.

    Divi 5 - Theme Options - Rollback to a previous version
  3. In the Version Rollback popup, click the Rollback to the previous version button

    Divi 5 - Theme Options - Rollback to a previous version

You will get a green check mark if the Rollback process is completed successfully.

Confirm the Theme Version

  1. Go to WordPress Dashboard → Appearance → Themes

  2. Click on the Divi Theme image

  3. Check its version number

    Divi 5 - Check the current theme's version

Notes:

  • It's important to remember that rolling back to a previous version of a theme is not a recommended long-term solution. It may introduce security vulnerabilities or compatibility problems.

  • It is best to use this method as a temporary fix until you can resolve any issues with the latest version or find alternative solutions.

  • Rolling back will only be possible if you had the previous version installed on your website in the past. If you just installed Divi and didn't have a previous version before, you cannot roll back to a previous version.

Did this answer your question?